OPEN WEEKEND
26th – 27th April 2025
St Cadoc’s Church, Llangattock vibon Avel, NP25 5NG
150th Anniversary of the Refurbishment of St Cadoc’s Church in 1875 by the Rolls familySaturday 26th 9am – 5pm
Come and celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Victorian refurbishment of St Cadoc’s Church Llangattock-Vibon-Avel and find out about the on-going work to restore the pipe organ.
Drop by between 9am and 5pm on Saturday 26th April to take a tour inside the 1875 W.G. Vowles pipe organ which has been (mostly) restored after being out of action for decades due to water damage. Come and admire the amazing craftsmanship of this wonderful instrument and talk to the team involved in restoring it. Bring some music as visitors will be able to play the organ for themselves (no prior experience required!).
Sunday 27 April 2025 – 3pm
Festal Choral Evensong with Llangattock SingersEntry: Free
Please bring cash for donations to the Friends of Friendless Churches.
Access is particularly difficult when wet so please park sensibly and walk to the church.
Please note there is limited heating and no toilet on site.This church of medieval origins was heavily restored in 1875, with Thomas Henry Wyatt (1807-80) as the architect. It contains stained glass by three Victorian makers at their very best, including an early work by C E Kempe (the west window, 1879). Within the south porch is an excellent collection of 17th and 18th century headstones, and within the churchyard is the burial place of C.S. Rolls, the pioneer aviator and founder of Rolls Royce.
